Kde jsem:  Katalog  >  Vyhledávání

Author profile

Nalezeno:    29 produktů

The Concise Laws of Human Nature - Robert Greene

<p>From the million-copy bestselling author of The 48 Laws of Power Robert Greene is a master guide for millions of readers, distilling ancient wisdom and philosophy into essential texts for seekers of power, understanding and mastery. Now he turns to the most important subject of all - understanding people's drives and motivations, even when they are unconscious of them themselves. We are social animals. Our very lives depend on our relationships with people. Knowing why people do what they do is the most important tool we can possess, without which our other talents can only take us so far. Drawing from the ideas and examples of Pericles, Queen Elizabeth I, Martin Luther King Jr, ...

The Concise Laws of Human Nature - Greene Robert

Publikace: The Concise Laws of Human Nature - Greene Robert. From the million-copy bestselling author of The 48 Laws of Power Robert Greene is a master guide for millions of readers, distilling ancient wisdom and philosophy into essential texts for seekers of power, understanding and mastery. Now he turns to the most important subject of all - understanding people's drives and motivations, even when they are unconscious of them themselves. We are social animals. Our very lives depend on our relationships with people. Knowing why people do what they do is the most important tool we can possess, without which our other talents can only take us so far. Drawing from the ideas and examples of ...

Melmoth - Sarah Perry

<p>From the author of the bestselling The Essex Serpent comes a darkly inventive and deeply moving novel that speaks urgently to our times.</p> Twenty years ago Helen Franklin did something she cannot forgive herself for, and she has spent every day since barricading herself against its memory. But the sheltered life she has crafted for herself is about to change.A strange manuscript has come into her possession, and its contents have the power to unravel every strand of her fragile safety net. It is filled with testimonies from the darkest chapters of human history, which all record sightings of a tall, silent woman in black, with unblinking eyes and bleeding feet: Melmoth, the...

Good Wives - Louisa May Alcott

<p>Good Wives is the second story about the March family. Three years on from Little Women, the March girls and their friend Laurie are young adults with their futures ahead of them. Although they all face painful trials along the way - from Meg's sad lesson in housekeeping to Laurie's disappointment in love and a tragedy which touches them all - each of the girls finally finds happiness, if not always in the way they expect. The book includes a behind-the-scenes journey, including an author profile, a guide to who's who, activities and more.. Also in Puffin Classics: Little Women, Little Men and Jo's Boys.</p>

E-kniha Theodore Boone: The Abduction - John Grisham

Book 2 in the thrilling young mystery series from internationally bestsellling author John Grisham When we last saw Theo Boone, he ensured that justice was served by uncovering evidence that kept a guilty man off of the streets. Hot off this high-profile murder trial, thirteen-year-old Theo is still dispensing legal advice to friends and teachers. But just when it seems as if his life has calmed down and gone back to the status quo, a new legal mystery comes to town, and this time it's personal. Theodore Boone: The Abduction - John Grisham od authora John Grisham a nakladatelství za skvělé ceny na e-shopu Martinus.cz

Anatomy of a Scandal - Sarah Vaughan

<p>'Deftly plotted and superbly well researched, with an eerie relevance to the current debate surrounding the attitudes to and experiences of women in Westminster, Hollywood and beyond. An intelligent, absorbing page-turner that avoids all knee-jerk assumptions and easy answers' Laura Barnett, author of The Versions of Us 'The best courtroom drama since Apple Tree Yard ... sensational' Clare Mackintosh A high-profile marriage thrust into the spotlight. A wife, determined to keep her family safe, must face a prosecutor who believes justice has been a long time coming. A scandal that will rock Westminster. And the women caught at the heart of it. Anatomy of a Scandal centres on a hi...

Freakonomics : A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything - Stephen J. Dubner

<p>In the summer of 2003,The New York Times Magazinesent Stephen J. Dubner, an author and journalist, to write a profile of Steven D. Levitt, a heralded young economist at the University of Chicago. Levitt was not remotely interested in the things that interest most economists. Instead, he studied the riddles of everyday life-from cheating to crime to child-rearing-and his conclusions turned the conventional wisdom on its head.<br /> Levitt and Dubner then collaborated onFreakonomics, a book that gives full play to Levitt's most compelling ideas. Through forceful storytelling and sharp insight, it reminds us all that economics is, at its root, the study of incentives-how people...

Alice´s Adventures in Wonderland - Lewis Carroll

Published to coincide with Alice in Wonderland's 150th anniversary, this volume includes John Tenniel's iconic engravings, the sequel Through the Looking Glass and a facsimile of Alice's Adventures Under Ground, the early manuscript version of the novel illustrated by Lewis Carroll himself. Originally conceived by its author as an entertaining story for Alice Liddell, the daughter of an Oxford dean, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, the fantastic tale of the young Alice's encounters with the White Rabbit, the Cheshire Cat, the Mad Hatter and the Queen of Hearts, has captured the imaginations of young and old throughout the world since it was first published in 1865. In addition to the vivid...

Gay Talese. Phil Stern. Frank Sinatra Has a Cold - Gay Talese, Phil Stern

Gay Talese’s crystalline portrait of Frank Sinatra combined faithful fact with vivid storytelling in a triumph of New Journalism. It is now published alongside notes and correspondence from the author’s archives and photographs from Phil Stern—the only photographer granted access to Sinatra over an extraordinary four decade period.First published as a signed Collector’s Edition, now available in an unlimited edition Gay Talese’s New Journalism triumph, Frank Sinatra Has a Cold “Sinatra with a cold is Picasso without paint, Ferrari without fuel—only worse. For the common cold robs Sinatra of that uninsurable jewel, his voice, cutting into the core of his confidence.” — Gay Talese In the wint...

One Of Us Is Lying - Karen M. McManusová

<p>FROM THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR, KAREN McMANUS "Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club” (EW.com) in this "flat-out addictive” (RT Book Reviews) story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Pay close attention and you might solve this. On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention. Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule. Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess. Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing. Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher. And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview ...

Little Women - Louisa May Alcottová

Now a major movie starring directed by Greta Gerwig and starring Emma Watson and Maryl Street The four March sisters Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy live in financial hardship in New England with their mother, while their father has been drafted to fight in the Civil War. The girls embark on a series of adventures and endure a number of unexpected misfortunes experiences that allow their personalities to emerge: Meg sensible and outgoing, Jo literary and boyish, Beth musical and shy, and Amy artistic and selfish but the bonds holding together the March family remain unbroken. Initially written as a novel for girls, Little Women is now regarded as an all-time American classic for all readers, inspirin...

I Wish You All the Best - Mason Deaver

<p>Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's stunning debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process. Heartfelt, romantic, and quietly groundbreaking. This book will save lives. -- Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda It's just three words: I am nonbinary. But that's all it takes to change everything. When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they're thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met. Struggling with an anxiety disorder ...

Gay Talese. Phil Stern. Frank Sinatra Has a Cold - Gay Talese

“Sinatra with a cold is Picasso without paint, Ferrari without fuel — only worse. For the common cold robs Sinatra of that uninsurable jewel, his voice, cutting into the core of his confidence.” —Gay Talese In the winter of 1965, writer Gay Talese set out for Los Angeles with an assignment from Esquire to write a major profile on Frank Sinatra. When he arrived, he found the singer and his vigilant entourage on the defensive: Sinatra was under the weather, not available, and not willing to be interviewed. Undeterred, Talese stayed on in L.A., believing Sinatra might recover and reconsider, and used the meantime to observe the star from a careful distance and to interview his friends, associa...

Cues : Master the Secret Language of Charismatic Communication - Edwards Vanessa Van

<p>It's not enough to have great ideas. You also need to know how to communicate them.What makes someone charismatic? Why do some people captivate a room, while others have trouble managing a small meeting? What makes some ideas spread, while other good ones fall by the wayside? Cues - the tiny signals we send to others 24/7 through our body language, facial expressions, word choices and vocal inflection - have a massive impact on how we, and our ideas, come across. Our cues can either enhance our message or undermine it.In this entertaining and accessible guide to the hidden language of cues, Vanessa Van Edwards teaches you how to convey power, trust, leadership, likability and chari...